Geographical Society of Philadelphia

Annual Legacy Event – Explorer of the Year Award

Circa 1900 Arctic Exploration Bellevue-Stratford

Since 1891, we have been annually honoring an “Explorer of the Year”. We choose the nominee based on their work crossing boundaries in their own successful and very worthy example of that goal. The special Cecilia Beaux pin has been awarded to Robert Peary, Theodore Roosevelt, Neil Armstrong, Diana Nyad, and Derrick Pitts – to name just a few.

Stay tuned for the “Date and our Next Honoree”

2009 Michael Robinson Honoree, 2008 Book Prize Winner- The Coldest Crucible: Arctic Exploration and American Culture